Nov 23, 2009

The Clock Is Ticking...

By Joyce DiPastena

Have you voted for your favorite book(s) for the 2009 Whitney Awards yet? A number of ANWA sisters have published fiction books this year. Let's show them our support!

What is a Whitney, you ask? I'll let their website speak for itself:

The Whitneys are an awards program for novels by LDS authors. Elder Orson F. Whitney, an early apostle in the LDS church, prophesied “We will yet have Miltons and Shakespeares of our own.” Since we have that as our goal, we feel that we should also honor those authors who excel and continually raise the bar.

The Whitney Awards honor novels in the following categories: General Fiction, Romance, Suspense/Mystery, Speculative Fiction, Youth Fiction, Historical, Best Novel of the Year, and Best Novel by a New Author. Novels can be nominated by any reader (via our website or by mail), and nominees are voted on by an academy of industry professionals, including authors, publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others.

The clock is ticking. All votes must be in by December 31. If you'd like to nominate a book (or books!), click here to go to the nomination form.


  1. Thanks for reminding me Joyce. I find myself forgetting more each day.

  2. yes, thanks for the reminder. I tried weeks ago...and later found out that what I put in didn't count...because I failed to name the publisher...sigh...

  3. I received a notice this month that I've been nominated for a Whitney Award. Thanks to everyone who nominated TRAIL OF STORMS.

    Marsha Ward

  4. Hooray Marsha!!! I am very happy for you!


Thank you for visiting. Feel free to comment on our blogger's posts.*

*We do not allow commercial links, however. If that's not clear, we mean "don't spam us with a link to your totally unrelated-to-writing site." We delete those comments.